Thing 12: Open Educational Resources

oer1

The task assigned is to explore some OERs and MOOCs for courses related to my discipline (Economics).

I started my search with Jorum wherein I found a course named ‘Introduction to Macroeconomics’ published by Dr. John Gathergood who is an Associate Professor in Faculty of Social Sciences, University of Nottingham. The following webpage appears when one clicks on the download course tab. It must be noticed that to download the course material one has to agree to the CC license and adhere to the restrictions mentioned in that.

cclicense_jorumcoursedownload

I extended my search for other OERs and found that Academic Earth is another open educational resource that brings at platter lectures from MIT, Stanford, Berkeley, Harvard, Princeton and Yale University.

Later I looked for some courses on Coursera and EdX. The websites give an option of filtering your search by subject, level and language. I found the following courses of relevance to my discipline.

  1. Principles of Macroeconomics, The University of Melbourne
  2. The Power of Microeconomics: Economic Principles in the Real World, University of California, Irvine

oer2

One thought on “Thing 12: Open Educational Resources

Leave a Reply

